The Speakers of the Plateau and Yobe States Houses of Assembly have lost their re-election bids to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidates.

The Plateau State Speaker, Yakubu Sanda, of the All Progressives Congress (APC) lost his bid to return to the Assembly to the PDP candidate, Mrs. Happiness Matthew Akawu, for the Pengana State Constituency seat.

The PDP candidate scored 9,926 votes to defeat the Speaker who polled 7,936 votes.

Assembly poll: Lagos Speaker wins constituency seat for sixth term

In Yobe, a 35-year-old PDP candidate, Lawan Musa, ended Speaker Ahmed Mirwa Lawan’s bid for sixth term in the race for the Nguru II Constituency.

Musa scored 6,648 votes to defeat Speaker Lawan of the APC who garnered 6,466 votes.

The Yobe’s Speaker has been in the House since 2003 when he was elected on the platform of the All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP).

The Star



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here