Benue Assembly

The Benue State House of Assembly has approved the sack of three local government caretaker committee chairmen in the state over alleged financial misconduct.

The House also approved replacements for the trio.

The lawmakers’ action followed a correspondence from Benue State Governor, Hyacinth Alia, read by Speaker Hyacinth Dajoh during plenary on Tuesday, February 20, 2024.

The affected chairmen are Tavershima Agber, Gboko; Gideon Haanongon, Ukum; and Francis Zazan of Katsina-Ala.

Benue Assembly suspends 4 lawmakers for sabotage

According to the correspondence, the caretaker chairmen were recommended for removal after the government appraised complaints of non-retirement of revenues accruing to their respective councils.

The local government chairmen were also accused of other criminal activities.

The governor, however, urged the House to replace the sacked trio with Verlumun Avar, Gboko; Victor Iorza, Ukum; and Justin Shaku for Katsina-Ala.

The House, while endorsing the governor’s request, asked the affected chairmen to hand over to their vice chairmen pending the swearing-in of the newly appointed replacements.

The Star



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here